Werewolf Barmitzvah: A Wolfman Movie Review

15 02 2010

While, I must admit, my previous experience with werewolves has pretty much consisted of this:

I feel I’m still enough of a geek to comment on the new Wolfman movie. I was excited going into the movie, as Benicio DeTorro and Anthony Hopkins are both entertaining in their own right. Visually, the movie reminded me of Sleepy Hollow, another story of long-time-lore which made a comeback. The movie had great, gloomy shots of the moors that we’re very aesthetically pleasing. The story, which was, to be nice- bland at times, was slightly compensated for by the fact that they kept the wolf man looking like the monster from our past, who we’ve all come to love.

In all honesty, it is nice to see a werewolf movie after being bombarded by vampire movies over the last few years. And although I did enjoy seeing Anthony Hopkins eating people again, I felt that in terms of a monster movie, Wolfman fell short. It was entertaining, but not worth the buy.

This got me thinking to another werewolf movie, a Canadian cult classic you may be familiar with, Ginger Snaps.

Now, THERE’S a werewolf movie. This clever Canadian hit from 2000 takes a fresh spin on the curse of being a werewolf and ties it in with the curse of being a teenage girl- using the werewolf metaphor for puberty. It’s an original spin on the classic monster movie with a great soundtrack. Definitely worth a look-see if you’re interested in a man-eating good time. The other Ginger Snaps movies, not so much.

They don’t call it the curse for nothing…


Actions

Information

2 responses

15 02 2010
Sarah

I’m seeing Wolfman on tuesday so we will have to compare notes. I agree Ginger Snaps was excellent. Did you see the two sequels?

16 02 2010
Lewis

Werewolf Barmitzvah, verrrrry scarrrrry!

Leave a comment